Halakura College

Accredited by NAAC Grade B (Cycle-1) AISHE ID:C-17332


• Online

Mon - Sat 8.00 - 18.00

Halakura, Dhubri
783335 - Assam

Political Science Department


The department of Political Science of Halakura college was opened in the year 1991 with due permission from the government of Assam. As the department was opened, Mr. Hirendra Kumar Rajak , an M.A. in Political Science from Gauripur joined the college as a Full Time lecturer in the year 1991. He ran the Political Science Department smoothly for a little more than just year and then left. in the year 1992, Mr. Hamidur Rahman, a teacher of Halakura H.S.School joined the department as a Part-Time Faculty stayed in the position for one year or so. He left in 1993. Mr. Shyamal Dev joined the department as a Part-Time Faculty towards the close of 1992 and kept on serving the department in the capacity. Mr. Pradip Kumar Saha and Md. Monayem Pramanik were appointed as Full-Time and Part-Time lecturers repectively in the department of Political Science in the year 1994. Mr. Saha and Md. Pramanik stayed in the department till 1997. As they left, Mr. Nripen Roy, a local enterprising youth, joined the department as a Part-Time Faculty in 1997 and worked for about a year. In the year 1997, Mr. Shyamal Dev appointed as a Full-Time lecturer in 1997. Mr. Sunil Kumar Sarma joined the Political Science department in 1997 and left in 1999 to join in Bilasipara College where he is serving the Political Science department till date. Mr. Shailendra Kumar Karmakar of Gauripur joined in 1998 as a Full-Time lecturer in the department and left after 3 months. Mr. Dilip Kumar Roy was appointed as a Full-Time lecturer in the department of Political Science in the year 1999. Mr. Dilip Kumar Roy continued to work in the department till he breathed his last in 2015. Mr. Prohlad Chandra Das joined the department as a Full-Time lecturer in 2001 and is still working in the department in the same capacity. In the year 2010, Mr. Dewan Abu Rayhan was appointed as a Full-Time lecturer in the department
Side by side with Pass Course, Honours Course was introduced in the department of Political Science in the year 1993-94 and since then many students became Graduates with honours in Political Science. Some of the students of the department came out with flying colours in every year and went for post Graduate degrees, degrees in Law like LLB. and the like. For pursuing Post-graduation, they chose universities like the Gauhati University, Bodoland University and universities in other parts of the country and thereafter achieved P.G Degrees. At present, some of the alumni of the department are working in colleges as Assistant professors, while others became Subject teachers/Asstt. teachers in various Schools.


• Mr. Hirendra Kumar Rajak M.A.
• Mr. Hamidur Rahman , M.A.
• Mr. Shyamal Dev, M.A.
• Mr. Pradip Kumar Saha, M.A.
• Md. Monayem Pramanik M.A.
• Mr. Nripen Roy, M.A.
• Mr. Sunil Kumar Sarma, M.A.
• Mr. Shailendra Kumar Karmakar, M.A.
• Mr. Dilip Kumar Roy, M.A.
• Mr. Prohlad Chandra Das, M.A.
• Mr. Dewan Abu Rayhan, M.A.L.L.B.

The faculty-members of the Political Science are all very diligent, co-operative and punctual. All of the faculties discharge their duties sincerely and extend a helpful hand in all functions of the department.

Political Science is popular subject and knowledge of the subject is deemed to be essential for an understanding of the politics of the country as also of the world. The objective of the department is to spread awareness about the political institutions of the country and the world and their importance among the students, specially those who opt for Political Science as Honours subject. The objective of the department is also to make students aware of the great political ideas given by political thinkers and philosophers.

The department enjoys an amicable and interactive student-teacher relationship. The department publishes a Wall Magazine (‘Chetana’) annually in order to provide the students with an outlet for writing. All the faculties assist in the welfare of the department.

• To organise UGC Sponsored State-level, National/International Seminars.
• To set up a Departmental Library for the benefit of the students, specifically those who belong to a poor background.
• To strive for separate department to function more smoothly.
• To organise Departmental tours to nearby places of interest for the benefit of the students. .
• To organize awareness programmes on social evils such as dowry, witch-hunting etc.
• To work towards publishing a research journal in future.


Year :
Appeared :
Passed :
1st Class :
Rank holder :